One life to love

Rollercoaster ride

Usually I stay alone at home when P goes on his official trip, but since the past many months one of my cousin comes over and stays with me or else I go and stay with my friends.

Recently, after a long time, I stayed at home alone over a weekend since P was out of town. I enjoy staying alone once in a while, spending my time cooking stuff i enjoy & watching movies i like.

So I spent 2 fun days watching movies and lazing on the couch. This is the review of some of the movies I saw while at home on my own.

** The story of us

The outline – Bruce Willis and Michelle Pfieffer play a married couple who go through hard times in fifteen years of marriage.

Some how I was not convinced by their issue, probably I could not relate to it. I felt 15 years is too long a time for such issues to creep into a marriage. Also the ending was abrupt with all issues coming to an end in a blink.

A bad watch.

*** Before Sunrise

The outline – A young man(Ethan Hawk) and woman(Julie Delphy) meet on a train in Europe, and wind up spending one romantic evening together in Vienna. Unfortunately, both know that this will probably be their only night together.

This was a good watch not great. Some element of magic which I expected in a romantic movie was missing, but certainly this was a different kind of romantic story and the ending leaves the audience with the hope that they both would finally live happily ever after.

A good watch

**** Bounce

The outline – A man(Ben Affleck) switches plane tickets with another man who dies in that plane in a crash. The man falls in love with the deceased one’s wife(Gwyneth paltrow).

This film was taken very well and shows plight of this man very well and then how he later falls in love with this lady and how the events turn out in his life… I loved this movie..but at times felt that Ben Affleck could have done a better job.

A very good watch.

**** The Great Debaters

The outline – A drama based on the true story of Melvin B. Tolson, a professor at Wiley College Texas. In 1935, he inspired students to form the school’s first debate team, which went on to challenge Harvard in the national championship

I always love the movies made based on true story. I feel this gives a chance to the incidents that made a mark in history to brought in front of the common public via the fastest medium of movies. Denzel Washington always has been one of favorites, I like him for the justice he does to the character he plays. This was one another of that kind. Overall the movie goes slow, but then it gives goose bumps when we know that we are seeing a scene which actually happened. This movie also covers racism and a new word I learned from this movie is “Lynching”(To execute without due process of law, especially to hang, as by a mob).

A very good watch.

*** Nancy Drew

The outline – Teen detective Nancy Drew (Roberts) accompanies her father on a business trip to Los Angeles, where she happens upon clues to a murder mystery involving a movie star.

I think P got this movie for me. It was a trip back down the memory lane to the teenage days when we used to read Nancy Drew novels. This is a typical kids movie. I enjoyed it though. Also the mystery that was solved was interesting.

A good watch.

Lot more reviews to come. Month of January has been busy watching movies and I am myself surprised to see the long list of movies that were covered this year.

January 25, 2008 - Posted by | Review

3 Comments »

  1. Good post.
    They made a sequel to before sunrise called before sunset.This was made 7 yrs after the first one so that the actors look real.It looks at how people change in the course of time.Quite philosophical!

    Comment by Ranjith Sankar | February 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. Sometimes it is nice to have a weekend alone at home… to catch up on movies and reading and stuff… Looks like you made great use of it, nice reviews

    Comment by Sig | February 3, 2008 | Reply

  3. നല്ല പോസ്റ്റ്… നന്നായി ചിലവഴിച്ച സമയം… ഇടക്ക് സ്വന്തമായി കുറച്ചു സമയം അവരവര്‍ക്കായി കിട്ടുന്നത് ഭാഗ്യമാണ്… എനിക്കും ഇങ്ങനെ ചിലപ്പോഴെങ്കിലും കുറച്ചു സമയം കിട്ടിയിരുന്നെങ്കില്‍ എന്ന് ആശിച്ചു പോകുന്നു… അസൂയ, കുശുമ്പ് തുടങ്ങിയ ചിന്തകള്‍ ചെറുതായി വരുന്നില്ലേ എന്ന് ഒരു സംശയം… ഹി ഹി ഹി

    ഈയ്യിടെ ആയി എല്ലാ പോസ്റ്റുകള്‍ക്കും ഒരു സിനിമയുടെ പശ്‌ചാത്തലം… ഒരു പാടു സിനിമ കാണുന്നത് കൊണ്ടാണോ?

    Comment by Santosh | February 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

