One life to love

Thoughts

“There is a protest march organised by the Citizens of Mumbai on 3rd December 2008 at 6pm, in front of the Taj Mahal hotel. It is our duty and responsibility to stand up and be counted, and force the government to take action. We are a city of 15 million people, and if we want to show our government, that this time we mean business, we got to turn out in large numbers. We have to shake our apathy, and our ‘chalta hai’ attitude. If a million of us come out on the street, the government will have to listen to us.”

Below are Jk’s (my close friend) comments on the Mumbai terror attacks and the protest march that was organized, some thoughts to ponder.

Guys you know what…don’t just target the politician…the real culprit is in fact are us….why do I say that?
Consider this……(this is a fact about me)

Our patriotism comes out only during sensational tragedies, I repeat sensational, only if it is made a media spectacle. After a few weeks or months it peters away. Our life becomes a routine. I go back home and watch my favourite show. I don’t remember when the first bomb blasts in Mumbai happened, when the train blasts happened, when the Coimbatore, Delhi and tens of other attacks or tragedies happened. They have happened to somebody else….not me

We blame the politicians, but haven’t we forgotten that in a democracy we deserve the leaders that we get. How many of us have actively participated in an election, what Naqvi said was right. I didn’t mean just vote (I have done it only once in my life) but participate. Have tried to find out who we are going to vote? His background? His capability? No, why? Because we are too busy with our lives. We have great problems to consider that are even more important.

What about the so called common man’s behaviour aftermath the Mumbai attacks? Taj Hotel was a tourist site. With people thronging to have a fill of the devastation, people taking photographs with their mobile phones, traders selling peanuts and corn and making brisk business. You call it the spirit of Mumbai. Spirit my foot! Its just our own fucking insensitivity. Whatever has happened around, I am safe, so let me think of my living. The rest has to be taken care by the Government.

We say it is the Government’s responsibility to give us protection. Aren’t we responsible to protect ourselves too. How many of us get irritated when we are subject to security checks at malls, airports, public places. You and me know that in some places the so called security checks are just an act, do we question that? We don’t, why should I bother, it’s not my job.

We do not want to follow the queue. If there is a way I can jump the queue I will do it. If I know that by dropping names I can shorten a procedure, I will do it. We believe and practice in the maxim “All animals are Equal, but some animals are more Equal”.

We wonder how could some terrorists get a Passport, Driving License, Bank account. We do it everyday, when we go out to get a license, if I pay 500 or 1000 bucks, I need not even take the driving test, I need not even have documents, I can get a driving license. Using this driving license, I can open a Bank account, no address proof no problem, because I have my targets for opening Bank account, I will ask somebody in my Bank to introduce. Because the person has got a Bank account and Driving license, he can apply for a Passport. When there is police verification give him some 200 or 300 bucks bakshish and lo behold you have a passport. I shrudder to think how many people such people I have opened accounts for. That point of time I had a reason….my targets.

Do we really think that such a huge cache of arms and ammunition could have found a way in, unless there are a few common people like us, who work in the Coast Guard, Police, Hotels, Hospitals, Banks, IT companies anywhere has not actively or inactively co-operated? Might not have taken the money, but have chosen to ignore about what was happening around.

Do we stop and help a person involved in an accident? We stare and wait to get all the details, but we will not help. Why? Anoop will answer that. If we do, we will be harrassed to such an extent that we think it’s not worth it. So what, we are troubled, its worth that saving somebody’s life.

Our anger and indignation should be against us too. These candle light marches should be taken out not just as a protest against the politicians but against ourselves. About how callous we have become. I am not saying that we go around and rectify the world. Just that we do our small bits. Realise that our anger can turn out to be a case of “The pot calling the kettle black”

Just poured out what I thought was right

Jk (menon.jaykumar@gmail.com)

December 7, 2008 - Posted by | Opinion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

